And so it begins!

June 13, 2014
Missionary Training Center
Provo, Utah

Dear Family –

Hello! They are letting us write home today, so that you know that we are alive and well. I don’t have long to write, but I’ll try to cram in as much as I can.

First, thank you SO much for the emails you’ve already sent me! I also really appreciate the Dear Elder from Mom and Lizzy, as well as the box of donuts. What a fun surprise! I did a little happy dance (when no one was looking – it’s against the rules) and sang victorious battle songs all the way home from the mail room. I love you all!

So far, I have really enjoyed being at the MTC. I’m quickly learning how much I don’t know, and how far I have to go to be ready to serve in the field. However, I have really dedicated and spiritually-prepared teachers who are helping us learn and grow. I absolutely LOVE my district and my companion. We have all become fast friends, and there is such a spirit of unity and friendship here. My companion’s name is Sister Aultz (pronounced ALL-tz). She is from Nampa, Idaho, and we get along great. She is positive, kind, and very motivated to learn all she can here. We are helping each other grow every day, and it is such a blessing to have a companion like her. I’m very grateful.

Last night, our met the branch presidency. After an extremely short interview and some frequent and prolonged eye contact with the President (I swear, he was searching my soul with his eyes), they called me to be the Sister Training Leader for the Zone. I’m very humbled and intimidated. I don’t feel like I’m as prepared or as spiritually strong as I should be to have this assignment. It is my job to be an example to the Zone and to help he incoming sister missionaries learn and be comfortable here. when President extended the assignment to me, I think I must have had a deer-in-the-headlights look, because he was very reassuring towards me. We’ll see how this goes.

I’m trying my best to learn and grow here. It’s been difficult at times, but I am learning more each day about my relationship with Heavenly Father and my call as a missionary. I am so humbled and grateful to be here. Thank you for all of your prayers! I definitely need it. If I may, would you please pray for me to stay focused and be able to concentrate completely? I would really appreciate that.

Sadly, I am out of time. My P-day is on Wednesday, so look for another (and more detailed) letter from me then! I love being a missionary – this is the greatest calling in the entire world.

Love,

Sister Cobb

Leave a comment