…this Huge Wave of Love straight from Heaven…

October 21, 2014

Dearest family,

Hello! Ah, I just love you all so much! You are the greatest. I love being a member of the Cobb family. Are you all happy? I am, and I hope you are too.
WOW. Mom told me I have been out for 5 months. Are you serious?! I don’t really keep track of time, because it flies by so quickly. You’re joking. 5 months?! NO WAY. It feels like I have only been here a week, but it also feels like I’ve been here for years at the same time. Weird. What does it feel like to you? I really can’t wrap my head around the idea of 5 months. That is insane.
We visit this amazing less active grandpa named Joe, and he asked me to give Mom and Dad this message: “Tell your parents that you met someone in New Jersey who appreciates their sacrifice for supporting you on your mission. They are sacrificing your company for 18 months, and they don’t get to be with you. Tell them that someone in New Jersey is grateful for them. They are blessed to have a daughter like you who has given everything to come out here and preach the gospel, and they will be blessed for their sacrifice.” Joe’s pretty great, isn’t he? He is only less active because he can’t drive himself to church (he has slight dementia), and his daughter can’t take him very often. He is the sweetest old man in the entire world though! He calls us his “babies” and makes us call him when we get home so that he knows we arrived home safely. He’s so cute πŸ™‚
The Freehold ward is absolutely amazing! It’s a Spanish AND English ward (isn’t that cool?), and an elder translates all of the meetings into Spanish that the ward members can listen to using headphones. Also, there is a Cobb family in this ward! I am Sister Cobb #2 πŸ™‚ We have compared family trees, and they don’t think we’re related.IMG_0733
They seem pretty great though, so I wouldn’t mind being related to them! The ward is so missionary minded and has really welcomed me in. It’s fun, because all of the Jersey wards love their missionaries. I don’t know if I was just oblivious or what, but I never really paid attention to the missionaries in our ward/stake! I didn’t know them very well, which is kind of sad. All of the ward members already know me and have shown me a lot of love, even though I’ve only been here a week! (I’ll probably only be here one more week, which makes me sad! I don’t want to leave this area!). I heard there’s a trio of sisters in the Ahwatukee ward right now… that’s such a crazy coincidence! PLEASE go and love them and give them a million hugs from me.
Well, transfer number three is drawing to a close, and it has been the craziest experience of my life. Honestly, the past six weeks have been really hard, and yet they have also been so joyful. Right now, I’m kind of feeling like a crazy person with all of these emotions running through me. I only told you the details about one of the scariest nights of this transfer… That scene repeated itself a few other times, if that gives you any idea of what this transfer has been like. Heavenly Father has definitely given me a “once-in-a-lifetime” experience – that’s for sure! The strongest emotion going on right now is gratitude. I feel so much gratitude to my Father in Heaven for this amazing experience. I am thankful that He loves me enough to give me this time here in Jersey. Serving a mission is the most fulfilling and joyful thing I have ever done. I am so grateful to be here! I am so HAPPY to be here. I have never been happier in my entire life. Despite everything that goes on, I always have a smile on my face and I am always finding an opportunity to laugh. I know that Heavenly Father is blessing me with happiness here, and I am grateful for it! We spend everyday serving the Lord and loving his children. My only desire and responsibility is to LOVE people! All day long! How great is that? We love people and share with them the most precious gift in the world: the Gospel of Jesus Christ. I love being a representative of the Lord Jesus Christ. I am already dreading the day when I have to take my name tag off and come home! (Don’t get me wrong family, I love you and miss you a lot!). Even though that day will eventually come, my name tag will always be on my heart. I am going to be a missionary for my Savior every day of my life.
Let me tell you about a really sweet experience I had this week.Β IMG_0751
Sister Houghton, Sister Rogers, and I were visiting a wonderful old lady in our ward, Sister S. She lives in an old folks home, has Alzheimer’s, and loves the Gospel. We visit her every week (well, that’s what they tell me… I’ve only been here a week!) to read the Book of Mormon with her. As we were about to leave her, I held her hand and told her how much I loved her (which is a lot by the way… I can’t explain it, but I love EVERYONE so much! It’s such a neat blessing). I squeezed her hand and reminded her about how much Heavenly Father loves her, and as I did so, I was overcome by this huge wave of love straight from heaven. It filled me up completely, and I could tell that she felt it too. It was so powerful.
It reminds me of something that Jeffery R. Holland said about Heavenly Father’s love: “Above all, never lose faith in your Father in Heaven, who loves you more than you can comprehend”.
I know that’s true. Heavenly Father loves each of us, more than we can comprehend, and desires for our happiness. He knows each of us individually. He knows our needs, concerns, circumstances, and desires. I have felt His love for His children in Jersey, and I have felt His love for me personally. I know it changes hearts, because it has most certainly changed mine.
I love you all so much! Never, ever forget that!
xoxo,
Sister Cobb
IMG_0753

ZONE 11! These missionaries are absolutely crazy, but I love them so much! We’ve been through some pretty insane experiences together, so it feels more like a family than a zone. I love it.
Picture one: Our investigator, Sy, is the CUTEST old man in the whole world! He is Jewish and absolutely loves the Book of Mormon!
IMG_0731 He is still working on whether or not Jesus Christ is His Savior, but he’ll get there! He really wants to know, so I know that Heavenly Father will answer his prayers when he is ready. On Friday, he played the saxophone for us and let us hold it! He was so funny. After he played, he said, “Okay, I need you to be honest with me… how did I sound? It’s been so long since I’ve played, so it’s okay if I sounded really awful!”. The thing is, he was amazing! He is a rockstar with a saxophone.

Leave a Reply

